Good Morning Africa


Good Morning Africa_2015_08_17_0149

This is contre jour in Africa, a genre in photography involving the back lighting of a subject. The early morning is a special time to absorb the warmth of the African sun and to take photographs of our fur clad friends, the baboons (Papio cynocephalus), enjoying that warmth. Here, a troop is sitting absorbing the first rays, pondering the new day and basking in the warmth. No newspapers, no mobile phones, and no rush hour traffic here!
(Canon EOS 5D Mk III/ EF70-200mm IS II USM; 1/1500 sec; f/6.3; ISO 640; 400mm)

Picture ©2015 Andrew Field – Simply Wild Photography 🐾

A-Z of Photography
Quasi-fish-eye-lenses (sometimes called full framed fish-eye) are lens which produce an image on either film or sensor the covers the entire area of the frame. A true fish-eye-lens will normally produce a circular (or hemispherical) image covering and ultra-wide angle of view (180º – 8mm).

“A very fine photographer asked me, ‘What did it feel like the first time you manipulated an image?’, and I said ‘Do you mean the first time I shot black and white instead of colour, do you mean the first time I burned the corner of a print down, do you mean the first time I spotted a dust speck on my print, do you mean the first time I shot with a wide angle instead of a normal lens, I mean what are you referring to? Where does it stop?'”

– Dan Burkholder

3 thoughts on “Good Morning Africa

  1. Oh Andrew, I love your antidote of how simple life in the African bush can truly be, classic! One almost wants to feel a part of this troop to live this life! As usual you have captured the essence of the early morning and its activities in this photo, well done!

Comments are closed.