Kudu on Anthill


Kudu on Ant Heap_2013_06_02_9171_768x474px

Were it not for the red ears, perhaps this kudu bull (Tragelaphus strepsiceros) may never have been spotted. Set in the late afternoon, and catching the last rays of the sun, this bull was spotted some distance away. Technically, it was a challenging shot, but this image shows a typical stance of a kudu on an anthill. The large ears of the kudu serve not only its capacity to hear, but also to cool the body through a network of surface veins which create the reddened appearance of inner ear. The ears may be oriented towards the incoming breeze.
(Canon EOS 7D; f/5.6; 1/750sec; ISO-640; 400mm)

Picture ©2013 Andrew Field – Simply Wild Photography

3 thoughts on “Kudu on Anthill

  1. Great shot as always.Magnificent animals the Kudu, so majestic. Had an old ‘bull’ in Sun Yet Sen area, that everyone was after. Out shooting for the ‘pot’ one evening, came face to face with him, stood there looking at each other..I could not shoot him, instead jumped up and down yelling, and watched him ‘bound away’ to live another day!

  2. Andrew, Something that has been on my mind for the past 32 years since I left Zim. is an elephant gathering spot in the Urungwe controlled hunting area.I would like to ask you to do me a something for me, when I was still living in Rhodesia. I was on a hunting trip down in the valley. During the course of the hunt, which was located in the Urungwe hunting area,in other word, to the left of the main road leading to Chirundu, I came across an area on a small hill, which consisted of a soft red type of stone (must have contained minerals, salt??) which the elephants seemed to enjoy, to the extent that they had tunneled into the side of the cliff.I did not have a camera with me at the time so was not able to record what I had witnessed. The best form of directions that I can give you is that at the bottom of the escarpment, turn left along a dirt road which lead all the way along the base of the escarpment to what I recall leads you to A Camp ( where the Zambezi opens out into the valley).You will know that you are close to the hill in question when you go up a slight rise and then dip down into a dry sandy river bed, the road continues on the other side of the river bed. Now this area may be in the controlled hunting area, but I am certain seeing that you are a photographer of note and may have some contacts in the Parks Board, you may be able to get into the area.When I was last there elephants were actually using their tusks to get at the soft red stone. This location may be a point of interest to you, if not then ignore this message. I have never been into Mana Pools during my life in Rhodesia and before I ‘kick the bucket ‘ I must visit this area. The last visit to Zim. in 2012 resulted in a nasty incident on leaving Gwanda at a so called Police speed trap and thus I will not return for the foreseeable future. In the event of you being able to get into the area, please send me some photographs.

    Kind regds.

    Piet(Stompy 8111) Van Zyl

Comments are closed.